Dear Little More Love family…

Dear Little More Love member

Entering the new year, what I’m about to say may seem redundant. It may seem small. It may be passed off as basic. But I want you to know this – I love you.

I love you, not because I am a good person, or because you’re just that awesome. I do it because I choose to, but more so because I have been loved first.
And I want you to truly understand what I mean by that.

When I say I love you, I do not mean butterflies and rainbows, sugar and candies. I mean a staying and showing up kind of love, a love that is after your joy – not your happiness, but your joy!
I mean a love that is fierce, which will involve people in charge being kind and compassionate to you, but also harsh and stern when required, in ways that you would loathe.

It means that in this family that you are now a part of, I am going to do what I can to give you what I believe is best for you; and that there are going to be times you are not going to like it, in fact, you’re probably going to end up hating the ones in charge briefly.

I want you to know that you are not doing me a favor by being here. And I am not doing you one either.

You are here for a purpose – a purpose, I believe, that is bigger than me, you and the whole lot of us.

It is going to  cost you a lot! There is so much that’s just not romanticisable about being here – you know this.

But in that purpose, it is my hope that we can grow together in love, in discipline and in joy.That you make room for creativity and real conversations, for brokenness and humility in surrender.

We’re all stumbling forward here. The goal is not perfection, but progress.

I want you to understand that we are a family, and in this family, we want each of us to be a shoulder that you can lean on. People need you and you need others.

I promise you –  I will dedicate myself to doing this – to pray for you, to invest in you, to love you and serve you as wholeheartedly and deeply as I know how, as we shine the light and spread it to everyone we encounter and meet needs, as we go out and be the hands and feet that this broken world desperately needs.

And I also want you to understand this very clearly –  I am going to fail.

I will mess up, I will stumble, I have made mistakes and I will continue to do so; because just like you, I too am a child, still growing in love, discipline and joy, praying to be guided by the Hand who put this purpose in my heart.

I might not always get this right, but I will try.  And I will love you deeply and fiercely.

I will do my best. And if I don’t, will you let me know?

Will you come in?

Will you enter deeper into this family?

I assure you, it is going to be a beautiful journey.

Dear Little More Love member, please know this – I love you.

– The Potter’s Clay

http://www.littlemorelove.org

lmlpot
“If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but I do not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.” – 1 Corinthians 13:3-4
Leave a Reply

