I love the thrill…

“I love the thrill that I feel when I get together with God’s wonderful people

Love the thrill that I feel when I get together with God’s wonderful people

What a sight just to see all the happy faces

Praising God in the Heavenly places

Love the thrill that I feel when I get together with God’s wonderful people”

It’s quite amazing how many times we can sing a song before actually understanding what it really means. The above words, for example, is part of a song I have sung in church Sunday after Sunday for at least seven years, and yet, there have hardly ever been moments where I’ve actually felt the thrill, far from loving it.

I loved singing, and I probably loved the people as well. But feeling the thrill? Loving the thrill? Didn’t even know what that meant…

…until today.

I had a meeting with a client, the head of an architecture firm, to whom I had to present our company’s BIM services.

As I sat outside, there was someone else, a representative from another company, presenting their services to the client. I realized I had some time to kill, so I took out The Explicit Gospel, by Matt Chandler, and started reading it. I also took a moment to pray that the Holy Spirit would lead me with the right words to say and connect with the client.

And suddenly, I heard the words sin and Jesus being spoken from inside. I had no idea what was going on, but in an instance, I had goosebumps. Immediately, I stood up, smiled at Heaven and found myself questioning God on how He can be so awesome.

When it was my turn to present, I walked in and told her I couldn’t help but overhear her conversation. She was so delighted and as I sat there, she shared the Gospel with me. It turns out, she had been sharing the Good News with every person who walked through the door to her office.

And that’s when I felt it – thrill.

There was no singing, no music and no fancy sermon by a preacher. It was simply a humble woman – one of God’s wonderful people – telling me what Jesus has done.

I felt it; I felt the thrill – and I loved it.

It didn’t really matter how I presented after that. All I knew and needed to know was that God was in control in that moment – and the thrill that came with it.

gospel.gif
“Fellowship is not when two saints get together. Fellowship is when two saints get together and talk about Jesus” – Paul Washer

 

Leave a comment